Sweet Squishies

Sweet Potato Almond Butter Cookies Squishies [Paleo & Vegetarian]

Tomorrow my CrossFit box is having a yoga event and people are bringing Paleo treats to share, so I thought I’d pitch in. Found a recipe for Paleo Sweet Potato Cookies here and decided to try it out! However, as you can see by my title the term “cookie” turned out to be quite misleading. I expect a cookie to crunch. These do not crunch. At all. They are, for lack of a better word, squishy. Doesn’t mean they aren’t delicious! To make them, you’ll need:

  • 1 Cup cooked sweet potatoes (mashed)
  • 2 Eggs
  • 3-4 Tablespoons almond butter
  • Generous sprinkle of cinnamon

Image

As I’m back to strict clean eating (you can read all about why in my first blog post) I try and get products that don’t have processed ingredients and are grown in a friendly environment. Luckily, living in Europe (especially Germany) this is quite an easy task. Ze Germans are all about being green and not allowing toxins into the body. Have you ever been to a German doctor? No? You basically need to show up missing an arm with blood spraying everywhere to receive a prescription for ibuprofen (okay, I exaggerate). Still, doctors here are all about “herbs” and “the natural way” so when it comes to buying food in Germany it is fairly easy to find products like Free Range Eggs (bought at REAL) and pure Almond Butter (bought at Bio Company). If you’re living in the states try and steer clear of High Fructose Corn Shit Syrup and attempt to get your eggs and meat products Free Range or Grass Fed. If you’re a poor graduate student, say fuck it, and get the cheapest items on the shelf. I know that feel, bro.

Now as you can see, my sweet potato was rather large so I ended up with 3 cups of cooked sweet potato instead. So I tripled the rest of the ingredients as well. Was that the right thing to do? Who knows? What you’ll quickly learn from reading this blog is that I am by no means a professional cook / baker. I just find cooking and baking fun! During the work week I will usually create recipes that are quick and easy. On the weekend when I have more time, I’ll usually look up Paleo recipes to try out. Like these cookies squishies.

Anyways, simply mix all of the ingredients together until you’re left with a bowl of mush. Don’t fret if the mush isn’t firm! Preheat your oven to 250 degrees and then bake for 10-15 minutes on one side, flip and then allow to bake for another 5 minutes on the other side. If you have an ancient German gas stove (that you’re afraid will explode every time you “turn it on”) like me, then preheat your oven at 7 and allow the cookies squishies to bake for 15 minutes on each side.

All done! Enjoy!

Image

Leave a Reply

