Crananacoa Cakelets

The Hell is a Cakelet? [ Paleo & Vegetarian]

If you find yourself asking that very question (which is indeed what a friend asked me earlier today), let me explain. It is a new creation by yours truly. I can not, however, take full credit for the coining of the term. I was chatting with a good friend earlier in the day and told him about my plans to make a “banana cranberry dark cocoa tahin butter cupcake”. His response? “Haha wow. That’s a mouthful.” So I gave him the task of inventing a name and he delivered beautifully. I informed him that he would now be naming all Cassandra creations. (I also promised him 25% of the profits if I ever make a cookbook and become famous.) Win-win situation overall.

So yes, a Crananacoa Cakelet is an almost Paleo treat. I threw in 90% dark chocolate (organic & fair trade) because I made the cakelets for a friend’s birthday dinner tomorrow night. She isn’t Paleo so I figured what the hell, she can have a trace amount of sugar in her cakelets. If you want these to be Paleo – DON’T FRET! All you have to do is take out the dark chocolate, which is exactly what I did for myself. I made some delicious Paleo Banana Cinnager Cakelets (oh my god I am awful at creating names). For the Crananacoa Cakelets you will need:

– 5 Bananas
– 2 and 1/2 Tbsp Tahin Butter (Sesame seed butter)
– 1/2 Tbsp Cinnamon
– 3 Eggs (Go Free Range!)
– 4 squares of Dark Chocolate (I used 90% Fair Trade, Organic)
– Handful of Cranberries

Image
Image(Just so you can see how close to being Paleo this recipe was…)

Image 

(There was way too much happening in the first picture to fit the cranberries in.)

Here comes the tricky part. When I create recipes I just go with the flow a.k.a. I don’t track time very well or take much note of temperatures used (not that it would help much seeing as The Teufel is well, the devil). Come to think of it, I am probably one of the worst people to be writing a food blog. Hah. Right, so I preheated my oven at 6. *If you have yet to read my previous blog posts, my ancient gas oven only ranges from 1-8. Your guess is as good as mine as to how that would equate to any normal/functioning oven. So yeah. Preheat yours at the equivalent of 6. 

Prepping was super easy. The beginning is just like my Banana Pancakes – simply break your bananas into pieces and throw them in a blender. Add the eggs. Add the tahin butter. Add the cinnamon. BLEND. Once its done transfer it into a mixing bowl and add your chocolate and cranberries. 

Image

(LECKER)

Stir well and then place into your cupcake holders. Since this was my first try I only filled my cupcake holders halfway up. For the future, I will not hold back. Fill those bad boys almost completely to the top! Trust me.

Image

While these were baking, I went ahead and made the Paleo mixture. Enter my Banana Cinnager Cakelets (seriously though, I need a new name). To make them, you will need:

– 2 Bananas
– 1/2 Tbsp Cinnamon
– 1/2 Tbsp Ginger
– 1 and 1/2 Tbsp Tahin Butter

Image(Again, just throw it all in a blender and blend away!

Everything turned out great! The cakelets only took 15-20 minutes to bake. Again, I can’t stress enough that you can go ahead and fill your cupcake holders almost to the brim. The cakelets will rise in the oven but then sink once they’re taken out. So if you fill them only half way, you get these:

ImageIf you fill them all the way up, you get these:

Image(The Paleo cakelets are the ones that aren’t exploding with chocolate and cranberries.)

I really hope you guys can figure out what the normal oven equivalents are to The Teufel. When you do, please let me know for future reference! Danke! Hope you try this recipe out because it’s delicious!

One thought on “Crananacoa Cakelets

  1. Pingback: Life in Berlin! | cassandrareborn

Leave a Reply

