Eggplant Baba Ganoush

Eggplant Baba Ganoush, Cauliflower & Brats! [Paleo & Vegetarian]

Wow. Time seriously flies by when you’re having fun! It’s been way too long since my last blog and for those of you out there actually reading it – I apologize! As I stated in my previous post, so many things were happening this week that any time I had in between was used to catch up on SLEEP. I’ve just gotten a call from a friend I attended grad school with in Amsterdam who’s in town for the weekend, so I’ll be heading out with her tonight. However, I decided I WILL get all my posts on here beforehand because if I procrastinate any longer I’ll be way too far behind. So without further ado, I present to you a meal I prepared Monday night for a couple days of lunch at work – delicious Eggplant Baba Ganoush, Roasted Cauliflower and Mini Brats. The cauliflower and brats are nothing special, but I needed something to go along with the yummy Paleo baba ganoush I wanted to try making. The ingredients you’ll need are:

Eggplant Baba Ganoush
– 1 Eggplant
– 1 TBSP Tahin Butter
– 1 or 2 TBSP Olive Oil
– Lemon
– Spices (I went with Garlic, Chili Powder, Ginger, & Cinnamon)

Cauliflower & Mini Brats
– 1 Cauliflower
– Pack of Mini Brats

Image

To prepare your eggplant, simply slice it horizontally (I sliced mine into 4 pieces), drizzle with some olive oil, sprinkle with all your spices and then stick them into the oven and roast until golden and crispy. For my entire meal I had The Teufel set to 5.

ImageMmmmm. Once they were done I removed all the skin and cut them up into small pieces (as small as I could get them). Threw them into the blender along with my tahin butter, a bit more olive oil ,and lemon juice. Blend. Wala – yummy Eggplant Baba Ganoush.

Image(Sorry this isn’t in some fancy bowl like you would see in most food blogs. A.) I’m 26, fresh out of grad school, & finally have an income again. B.) This is my “work lunch” container. C.) Who gives a shit crap about what your food is on as long as the food is delicious.)

For the cauliflower, simply prepare it: peel all the leaves off, cut the core out, break into the individual florets & wash (I did this before making my baba ganoush so that the florets could soak in some hot water and get nice and clean). Throw various spices on them (seriously, throw it on – have some fun in the kitchen!) and stick them in the oven to roast for 10-15 minutes.

Image

After the cauliflower, throw your brats in next. Let them roast for 10-15 minutes as well. ALL DONE!

ImageIf you’re like me, you looked at this photo and instantly thought – what’s missing? GREENS. That’s right. I honestly feel that if you can, you should have greens with every lunch and dinner. Not only is it aesthetically pleasing but it’s NUTRITIOUS & DELICIOUS. So I whipped up a ridiculously simple salad because ALL SALADS SHOULD BE SIMPLE. I’m sorry but if it takes 15 steps to make a “salad” it’s not a flippin’ salad.

ImageAll I did was dump some greens onto a giant plate and topped it with sunflower seeds. Done. (I didn’t have the taste for dressing that day.) Simple meal that lasted for two days!

Leave a Reply

