Muffin-Tastic-SPLOSION

Muffin-Tastic-SPLOSION [Paleo]

Y’all. Like seriously, y’all. This was the BEST outcome I have had so far with Paleo baked goods. I owe it all to my lovely friends at CrossFit Spree who helped me hunt down Almond Grounds & Coconut Milk (still on the look out for Coconut Flour, Almond Flour & pure Almond Milk – help me out if you’re in Berlin). These muffins are fantastic. I can not stress it enough. If you try no other recipe on my page, TRY THESE. Added bonus? They’re Paleo Friendly.

Before we jump into the recipes though, I want to send a love filled shout out to my old roommate from my days in graduate school at University of Amsterdam. I was surprised by this perfect card in my mailbox earlier today.

Image

To quote her, the only way the card could have been more perfect is if it had pictured an Owl (me) & a Frog (her) – to keep a long (strange) story short, those are our spirit animals. The card was filled with a list of memories we shared in Amsterdam & it made me remember that the good should always outshine the bad (I’ve mentioned previously that my stay in Amsterdam wasn’t the best health wise)! I miss my old roommate but I am hoping to see her SOON!

Right. First muffin recipe I have for you is for Blueberry Almond Muffins sprinkled with Coconut. Y’ALL. SO GOOD. OMG. To begin, preheat your oven to 6.5 – please remember the POS I am working with. The dreaded Teufel. I think for y’all the oven should be around 300 degrees F. Here are the ingredients I began the evening with – by the end I had decided to make a second batch (didn’t take a picture of the different ingredients used) & was randomly mixing things together. As always.

Blueberry Almond Muffins sprinkled w/ Coconut:
– 1 & 1/2 Cups Almond Grounds
– 1 TBS Hazelnut Grounds
– 1/4 Tsp Sea Salt
– 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
– 1/4 Tsp Vanilla Flavor
– 1/4 Cup Melted Coconut Oil
– 1/4 Cup Honey
– 1/4 Cup Coconut Milk
– 2 Eggs
– 1/2 Cup Blueberries
– Handful of Coconut Shavings

Image

Basically mix everything into a big bowl. I added all the dry ingredients first & then the wet ingredients one by one while constantly using my whisk in between. I melted my Coconut Oil before adding it to the mix. That is it. Now pour that delicious mix into cupcake holders. From my experience with Paleo cooking – more is definitely better. Since Paleo ingredients can sometimes have trouble rising, do not stop at halfway when filling your cupcake holders – fill those bad boys nearly to the top! Then sprinkle them generously with some Coconut Shavings. YUM.

ImageNext, stick them in the oven & leave them there for 20-25 minutes. While these were cooking I decided to make another batch of muffins. I was listening to good music & sipping on red wine – I guess I was simply in the mood to bake! This second batch was inspired by my sexy beast of a WOD partner who brought Paleo Brownies (THAT HAD BACON IN THEM) to the gym last week. It had never occurred to me to mix chocolate & bacon before – sorry but we don’t have insane state fairs filled with foods that induce heart attacks over here (OMG I miss all the heart attack inducing food at the Raleigh NC Fairs – deep fried Snickers bars? Yes please.) so I missed the “chocolate is amaze-balls when combined with bacon” memo. Well, after some mixing & matching I came up with…

Dark Chocolate & Bacon Banana Almond Muffins sprinkled w/ Cinnamon & Red Chili:
– 2 & 1/2 Cups Almond Grounds
– 1 TBS Hazelnut Grounds
– 1/4 Tsp Sea Salt
– 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
– 1/4 Tsp Vanilla Flavor
– 1/4 Cup Melted Coconut Oil
– 1/4 Cup Honey
– 1/2 Cup Coconut Milk
– 2 Eggs
– 1/2 Bar of Dark Chocolate (I usually use 90-99%)
– 7 Strips of Bacon
– 1 Ripe Banana
– Chili Powder
– Cinnamon

Go ahead and mix all the dry ingredients, followed by adding the wet ingredients, as described for the previous muffins. When that’s done fry your bacon so it’s nice and crunchy (one of my trainers insisted crunchy bacon would be the bomb-diggity in baked goods – he was right).

ImageIt’s okay. I know you just drooled. I did as I was frying the bacon. Perfectly natural. Once it’s crunchy rip it up (or cut it up if you’re more civilized) into little bits. Throw it into your mix. Now break apart your dark chocolate and throw that into the mix as well. I decided to add a banana last minute (simply because it was totally brown). All I did was mash it up with a fork and whisk it in with the rest of my mixture. Walaaa. Fill up your cupcake holders (this will make 12 muffins) to the top and then sprinkle them with Cinnamon & Red Chili powder. SO GOOD. Again, stick these in the oven for 20-25 minutes.

The end result?

ImageOMG. Like OMG. OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG. So good it hurts. Except in a really really good way. You know? Like OMG. That’s basically all I can say at this point.

Blueberry Almond Muffins sprinkled w/ Coconut…

ImageDark Chocolate & Bacon Banana Almond Muffins sprinkled w/ Cinnamon & Red Chili…

Image*sigh* I will be bringing the majority of these with me to the Saturday Morning WOD tomorrow. Promises to be kept. Damnit. Have no doubt, I will be making these again. And again. And again.

In addition to these mind blowing muffins I wanted to give you a quick & easy Paleo Hot Cocoa recipe. Delicious & perfect for the cold weather!

Paleo Hot Cocoa:
– 1 Square of Dark Chocolate
– 1/2 Cup Coconut Milk
– 1/2 Cup Water
– 1 Scoop pure Cocoa Powder
– 1 TBS Honey
– Cinnamon

Image

Mmmmmmmmmm. Break the Dark Chocolate up into bits & melt in your cup for about 20-30 seconds. Then add your Coconut Milk & Water and microwave for about 2-3 minutes (or until it reaches the temperature you want). Last, add the Honey, the Cocoa Powder, and sprinkle some Cinnamon in. Mix it all up and ENJOY!

My song this week is one you can turn up while sipping on your Paleo Hot Cocoa, eating one of your Paleo Muffins, and enjoying a good book in the candle-light. At least, that’s what I plan on doing…

Leave a Reply

