Coconut Honey Crumbles

Coconut Honey Crumbles [Paleo]

…plus Berlinale and CrossFit road-trip adventures! After work today I found I had a serious craving for something sweet (what else is new, right?) which I blame on the insanity currently taking place at work (again, what else is new?). Inspired by Paleo coconut cookies a friend of mine brought along on our road trip this weekend, I whipped up some Coconut Honey Crumbles. Why did I name them that? Umm, because coconut and honey are in the ingredients and they look crumbly. I know. I am so fucking creative it even blows my mind at times. I posted a picture on my Facebook page & received some requests for the “recipe”. I quote “recipe” because I honestly just grabbed things from my shelf, mixed them up in a bowl, and stuck them in the oven. I ain’t lyin’. Luckily, the result turned out to be yummy (in my tummy) and so I will oblige and post this last-minute-omg-i-want-something-sweet-in-my-mouth-asap “recipe”.

Coconut Honey Crumbles
– 1 Cup Almond Grounds
– 2 TBS Hazelnut Grounds
– 2 TBS SunButter (You could substitute any kind in here!)
– 2 Squares broken Dark Chocolate (99%)
– 1/4 Cup of Dried Cranberries
– 1/4 Cup of Coconut Milk
– 1/4 Cup of Coconut Shavings
– As much Cinnamon as you desire.
– Honey

Possibly one of the best things about this “recipe”? It takes 5 minutes to prepare. Dump all of the ingredients listed above, aside from 1/8 of the Coconut Shavings and the Honey, into a giant bowl and whisk that scheisse up! Now attempt to make small balls (stop giggling) and roll them around in your remaining Coconut Shavings. Place them in the oven (I had The Teufel set on 6) for 10 minutes and they’re done! Almost. HAH. Fooled you. What actually happened was I took them out after 10 minutes, tried one and thought to myself oh hell naw – these are not sweet enough. So I drizzled honey over the tops of them and stuck them back in the oven (the oven wasn’t turned on, but it was still hot enough to let these Crumbles bake for an extra 2-3 minutes). NOW they’re done!

ImageSo delicious! Be sure to give them a try! I mean come on, they take a total of 15 minutes…

Berlinale

Basically, I love Berlin. Even more than my last blog post. Even more than yesterday. It’s true, earlier this week I was asking friends where I could go hiking nearby because I was having a crazy home-sickness for the countryside…but then Berlinale happened. Y’all, my small town German countryside roots definitely came out for all of Berlin to witness. Berlin is currently packed with film celebrities and OMG I AM FREAKING OUT. I went to the premier of Wes Anderson’s  The Grand Budapest Hotel with a friend (who is also from the German countryside), to watch the stars walk the Red Carpet. Needless to say we absolutely lost our shit control when we found ourselves within five feet (FIVE FEET) of Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes), Edward Norton, Bill Murray (he exited his car holding a full Martini, which he prost-ed to the crowd before chugging in one gulp), Tilda fuckinggoddessofawoman Swinton, Jeff Goldblum, Saoirse Ronan, Wes Anderson and many more. When all of the celebrities had entered the showing of the film, my friend and I went to a bar where we kept switching back and forth from a dazed silence to shouts of “OMG WE WERE RIGHT NEXT TO HIM/HER!”

ImageAvada Kedavra y’all, Avada Kedavra.

Road Trip to Bratislava!

One last thing I need to mention in tonight’s blog (because who knows when I will write again) is the road trip I went on with friends from CrossFit Spree. One of the members at our box works for BoxRox and was heading to the Central Europe Throwdown in Bratislava, Slovakia for the weekend. Lucky for me, he extended the invitation to anyone who was interested. Let’s see, road trip to a country I have yet to visit to see sexy men with glistening muscles workout? SIGN ME UP. I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people to travel with! Thanks to a last minute (and brilliant) suggestion, we decided to make a pit-stop in Prague on the way to Bratislava. Excellent decision. Turned into about a 2 hour detour as we stuffed our faces with yummy food, and walked around the city basking in the blue skies and sunshine.

ImageImageImage

We eventually got back on the road to Bratislava and ended up at our hotel around 20:00. As soon as we were checked-in, we left to check out CrossFit Pressburg who’s team was helping to host the Central Europe Throwdown. Oh, and of course we managed to squeeze a (ridiculously intense) WOD in as well.

ImageAwwwwww yeah! Next morning we went straight to the event to see the first WOD. Originally, some of the girls and I had planned on leaving the event halfway through to see some of the sights in Bratislava – HAH, that definitely didn’t happen. I have never been in such an incredibly uplifting atmosphere. People all around were cheering on every single athlete who had qualified and dared to compete for the event. Onlookers urged the competitors on as they completed snatches, cleans, handstand push-ups, muscle-ups, wall balls, and many more challenges to fight their way into the Top 10.

Image

Image

ImageIf you ever need to be inspired to workout, come to one of these events. It has definitely motivated me to push myself for the next year and a half in order to come back as a competitor rather than just a spectator. Mark my words. The world needs more Elisabeth Akinwales – such a beast!

Right. It’s time for me to head to bed. So I bid you goodnight and leave you with this sweet, sweet tune.  May it brighten your day and boost you with a bit of confidence while you’re getting ready in the mornings. “The mirror be like…”

Leave a Reply

