Dark Nutty Delights

Dark Nutty Delights [Paleo & Vegetarian]

This post is going to be short and sweet (super sweet)! Again, I made some last minute cookies and holy *&$^#*@#*&$&@*# they turned out to be the bomb diggity. Like, the bomb dot freaking com. So let’s get to it – the ingredients:

– 1/2 Cup Hazelnut Grounds
– 1 Cup Almond Grounds
– 1/4 Cup Almond Slivers
– 1/4 Cup Hazelnut Chopped
– 1/4 Cup Coconut Flakes (not shavings!)
– 1/2 Cup Coconut Milk
– 1/8 Cup Almond Milk
– 1 Egg
– Dash of Sea Salt
– 1/8 Tsp Baking Soda
– 1/8 Tsp Baking Powder
– 1/2 Tsp Vanilla Flavoring
– 1/4 Cup Olive Oil
– 2 Blocks of Dark Chocolate (85%)
– Honey
– Coconut Shavings
– 1/2 TBS Cinnamon

At this point I have to thank Bugs (my friend who sent me a fabulous package that inspired me to keep blogging) for the journal she sent. After mixing up the above ingredients I (thankfully) remembered to jot everything down – and what do you know? I had my journal and my trusty wand nearby!

ImageThis is what happens when you give me toys. I am forever picking up my “wand” and waving it around casting spells.

“Oh what? You don’t want to open for me, door? ALOHOMORA, sucka!”

Yes. This is my life…

Back to the recipe. Stick all of the ingredients, aside from the Coconut Shavings, the Honey, and the Dark Chocolate, into a big bowl. Mix. Now make little cookies, place them on wax paper, sprinkle them with the Coconut Shavings, and put them in the oven. Again, I had The Teufel set to 6. After about 10 minutes take your cookies out and drizzle them with honey. Now stick them back in for an additional 5 minutes. Once they’re done take them out and let them cool for a bit. As they do, put your Dark Chocolate into a cup and melt it in the microwave for 2-3 minutes. Mmmmmmmmm. Now take that melted chocolate and pour it over the tops of your cookies. GO CRAY. Once that’s done, pop your cookies into the fridge to let the chocolate cool and harden for about 10 minutes. Finally…alles ist fertig. Now you may feast.

Image

*sigh* Since I’m a nice person, I took the majority of the cookies to work, and to CrossFit to share with my friends. Yes. They should consider themselves extremely lucky (and loved). If you have the time, give these cookies a try. You will not be disappointed. They are heavenly. Dare I say my baking skills are getting better? Better not jinx it. Especially since this week I’m attending a Paleo Dinner with friends from the Box. I plan on bringing these cookies, only I’ve decided…

…wait for it…

to add bacon. Yes. You read that right. Fingers crossed it tastes as good as I’m imagining it will. Right. Bed time! Again I leave you with another tune. From one of the baddest chicks. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

